January 17, 2011

  • You Thought I Was A Goner

    I know, I know, its been a long while.  I’ve got 4 crazy kids peeps.  I’m pretty crazy myself.  We’ve been on an exploring kick lately, our target….the southern end of this beautiful island.  So, when we have no obligations, we take off and go for the day.  Here in Guam when you take off and go you must have some essentials.  Including, but not limited to:  Swimsuit (towel optional, its warm enough you don’t need one), sunscreen and more sunscreen, BUG SPRAY, and water, we usually take the GPS preloaded with geocaches along also b/c you just never know when the caching bug will hit.  So Saturday we hit up Priests Pools, they are in the middle of a village called Merizo.  A short hike through some grass and you get this

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Pretty cool right.  Uh, sure….when I was like 6.  What the heck happened to my adventurous spirit, I don’t know, but swimming in green moss filled water just wasn’t my idea of fun.  The boys had moss in the swimsuits!  Loved the area, loved watching the kids play, would totally do it again, but you will not find me in the water.  For the record, I did get in long enough to relieve myself, you know you do it to, so don’t hate!  The top pool seemed to be about 8 feet deep judging by Stan submerging himself and trying to touch the bottom (eyes and mouth closed tightly shut a must)  The boys loved jumping in and “peeing” through the waterfall.  A lot of potty talk around here….we have 4 boys!

     

    We ended the day with a visit to Umatac and Big John.  Big John is great, this big dude with a skinned head (exception being his mohawk) who sits around at the pavilion drinking his budweiser all day.  Greets us with a Hafa Adai (prounced kind of like Half a Day real fast) and asks us if we’d like to see Bessie maybe Betsy not quite sure.  We were feeling adventurous so what the heck.  Meet Bessie folks, “the fastest horse on Guam”

    This is a Carabao, kind of a mix between a cow and a water buffalo from what I’ve been told.  Eli looks happy right….Yeah, Bessie bucked all the kids off!  I wish I had a video camera, it was a classic moment.  I laughed for a long time replaying it over and over again in my head.  Eli didn’t appreciate it, thus the no smile, pouty face in the picture.

    She likes Bananas too:

     

    Not only did we have fun on the rides, we got to check out the sights (amazing overlook and some cool cannons and fort remains) and sample some amazing local produce…honey bananas, coconuts, sour fruit, star fruit….pure deliciousness.  We will return!

     

     

     

    Don’t think that we only let the kids have the fun

     

    OH YES I DID!!!!!

Comments (2)

  • Looks like a lot of fun.  Your kids are growing up so fast.  What an amazing adventure you are having.  Memories to last a life time

  • You have to post once every 2 weeks (that gives you time to rest between posts).  Lauren and I just read it again, and we laughed just as hard as we did the first time we saw it!  Just think…we are laughing with you and not at Stan.  Nertz!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *