October 19, 2009

  • Thunderbirds Come to Town

    Living on an Air Force base provides us many opportunities to see airplanes, but its not too often that you get to see the Thunderbirds!  We had an airshow out here, unfortunately while the rest of the base had the afternoon off, Stan had to work the medical tent so I got to sit in the sweltering heat for 5 hours with the boys by myself.  We did see Stan, he looked like this

    IMG_0455.JPG

    All official don’t you think, we see lots of green uniforms these days.  I guess its nice to just wake up and know what you are wearing everyday.

    At church events start with a prayer, in the AF things start with a flag ceremony and National Anthem.

    IMG_0458.JPG

    We had front row seats to the helicopter demonstration run by HSC-25 (its a naval group and the one that Stan actually works with and will fly with, these helicopters are considered his primary aircraft).  The redhorse squadron are the folks repelling out (all I know about them is they where red hats with their uniforms instead of the regular ones)

    IMG_0464.JPG

    Some big plane flew over, perhaps a B-52 bomber, I really have no clue, but I know one B-52 did fly by that day, if this is it…..who knows

    IMG_0467.JPG

    There was definitely some down time as they built up to the “main event” and once that time came there was even more down town as the pilot felt like the clouds were too low to fly.  We had to wait an extra hour for the Thunderbirds to perform.  After a lot of this

    IMG_0468.JPG

    and this

    IMG_0469.JPG

    we got this

    IMG_0475.JPGIMG_0484.JPGIMG_0486.JPG

    Seriously an amazing performance, I’m sure hours of training goes into it. 

    For awhile I wasn’t sure how worth it it was as Eli was quite happy to be there

    IMG_0478.JPG

    the above picture is exactly the reason why I make it a point to be home for nap time most days

    But the moments of stillness and excitement definitely make up for it

    IMG_0489.JPG

    IMG_0492.JPG

    and then we take a picture and pretend that Stan was with us all along, but don’t be fooled.  He only joined us for the last 10 minutes of the Thunderbirds performance

    IMG_0493.JPG

    Maybe next time he’ll get the day off too, here’s crossing our fingers!

Comments (3)

  • Looks like fun. So good to see those cute little faces.

  • Looks like fun!  I love the air shows.  We saw the Thunderbirds here a litte while back and all I could say was “WOW” over and over.  I love watching them.  It gets me all giddy inside.  Sorry Stan wasn’t able to help and then add the heat….yuck.  You’re the woman! 

  • Are you sure you are due in 4 weeks? You look great! And I’m not just saying that because I asked Molly who you were and she said, “mommy.” You really look great. But honestly, we don’t look THAT much alike that my three year old should get us confused!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *